clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

These are your fifteen Kuala Lumpur Major qualifier winners

The first Dota Major’s teams have been (mostly) decided.


The second Dota Pro Circuit season has officially begun — and the teams are locked in and ready to go for the Kuala Lumpur Major, the first DPC event of the 2018-2019.

While technically, Dota 2 teams’ rosters were supposed to be locked in September 15th, the qualifiers for the Kuala Lumpur Major began days before. And despite the short time between The International and these qualifiers, the competition was smoking hot in every region.

When it all settled down, fifteen teams emerged as the contenders for the Kuala Lumpur Major. Here’s the list of who made it through:


  1. PSG.LGD
  2. Vici Gaming
  3. Team Aster

Commonwealth of Independent States:

  1. Virtus.Pro
  2. ferzee


  1. Team Secret
  2. Ninjas in Pyjamas

North America:

  1. Evil Geniuses
  2. Forward Gaming
  3. J.Storm

South America:

  1. paiN Gaming
  2. pain X

Southeast Asia:

  1. Fnatic
  2. TNC.Predator

The final team for the event will be determined through DreamLeague Season 10, the next Valve minor series.

What’s at stake

This year’s Pro Circuit has some of the same fundamentals as last year: a point system, with Majors handing out more points than Minors. The Majors will also be worth a cool $1 million again.

But what varies now is the point distribution. This Major - and most future Majors, it seems — will hand out a whopping 15,000 Qualifying Points.

The distributions of point and cash prizes are as follows:

  • 1st — 4,950 QP; $350,000
  • 2nd — 3,000 QP; $170,000
  • 3rd — 2,100 QP; $100,000
  • 4th — 1,350 QP; $80,000
  • 5th/6th — 900 QP; $60,000
  • 7th/8th — 450 QP; $40,000
  • 9th - 12th — 150 QP; $15,000
  • 13 - 16th — 75 QP; $10,000

Basically, every team that makes it to the Major will receive points. It also appears this will have a double-elimination format, based on the prize and point distributions.