clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Schedule, format and more for The Summit 9, Dota 2’s returning fan favorite event

The massively popular and semi-casual event makes its return before The International next month.

There’s always time for some casual Dota 2, and Beyond The Summit is bringing it between the Dota Pro Circuit and The International. Dota Summit 9 sees the return of a fan-favorite tournament, with serious gameplay but a super-casual content and commentary vibe. Couch casting, comedy skits and post-event shenanigans (maybe?) fill in the gaps between high-level matches of Dota 2.

This one isn’t for any of the Pro Circuit’s Qualify Points — that’s long in the past now, especially with International qualifiers behind us — but players are still down to for their share of $100,000 USD. Plus, we get to see all three American teams at TI8 fight it out, there’s a new Polish team in town, paiN gets their TI8 warmup, and Southeast Asian team Fnatic gets to adjust to time zones and jetlag. Everyone wins here, really.

If you’re excited to keep up with the casual-but-not-really tournament, we have the schedule right here for you.


Format

Official Stream: Beyond The Summit — https://www.twitch.tv/beyondthesummit

Prizes: The prize pool will be $100,000.

Competition Format: This event’s group stages will be round-robin, followed by a playoff bracket.

  1. In the Group Stages, each team will play each other in best-of-two matches.
  2. The top two teams proceed to the Winners’ Finals, which are event semifinals.
  3. The losers are placed in a lower bracket and play the bracket out from there.

The Losers’ Finals, or the second semifinals, as well as the Grand Finals will take place Sunday.


Teams/Groups:

  • Evil Geniuses (North America, Direct Invite)
  • Fnatic (Southeast Asia, Direct Invite)
  • OpTic Gaming (North America, Direct Invite)
  • OpTic Gaming (Europe, Qualifier [BTS Summer Cup])
  • VGJ.Storm (North America, Direct Invite)

Schedule:

Note: Times are approximate and are subject to change as games run longer or shorter.

Group Stages

Wednesday, July 25 Group Stages Day 1

  • 9:00 AM PDT (12:00 PM ET) — Fnatic vs OpTic
  • 11:30 AM PDT (2:30 PM ET) — Fnatic vs LDI
  • 2:00 PM PDT (5:00 PM ET) — LDI vs EG
  • 4:30 PM PDT (7:30 PM ET) — EG vs VGJ.S
  • 7:00 PM PDT (10:00 PM ET) — VGJ.S vs paiN

Thursday, July 26 Group Stages Day 1

  • 9:00 AM PDT (12:00 PM ET) — OpTic vs LDI
  • 11:30 AM PDT (2:30 PM ET) — OpTic vs VGJ.S
  • 2:00 PM PDT (5:00 PM ET) —VGJ.S vs Fnatic
  • 4:30 PM PDT (7:30 PM ET) — Fnatic vs paiN
  • 7:00 PM PDT (10:00 PM ET) — EG vs paiN

Friday, July 27 Group Stages Day 3

  • 9:00 AM PDT (12:00 PM EDT) — LDI vs VGJ.S
  • 11:30 AM PDT (2:30 PM EDT) — LDI vs paiN
  • 2:00 PM PDT (5:00 PM EDT) — paiN vs OpTic
  • 4:30 PM PDT (7:30 PM EDT) — OpTic vs EG
  • 7:00 PM PDT (10:00 PM EDT) — Fnatic vs EG

Tiebreakers to follow if necessary.

Playoffs

BRACKET:

Liquipedia

Saturday, July 28 Playoffs Day 1

  • 9:00 AM PDT (12:00 PM EDT) — Lower Bracket Round 1, Match 1
  • 12:30 PM PDT (3:30 PM EDT) — Lower Bracket Round 1, Match 2
  • 4:00 PM PDT (7:00 PM EDT) — Winners’ Finals (Semifinals 1)
  • 7:30 PM PDT (10:30 PM EDT) — Lower Bracket Round 2

Sunday, July 29 Playoffs Day 2

  • 9:00 AM PDT (12:00 PM EDT) — Losers’ Finals (Semifinals 2)
  • 1:00 PM PDT (4:00 PM EDT) — Grand Finals