clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The International 8 Europe Qualifiers: Schedule, teams and format

With only one slot, will Europe be a bloodbath of a qualifier? Follow along with our full schedule

Greetings to European fans! We at The Flying Courier are putting together the full schedules for every region’s Main Qualifier events. If you want to keep an eye on all the action, feel free to browse our Main Qualifier hub!


The International 8 is upon us, and it’s time for the first step in the road to Vancouver. With eight teams already qualified, ten more need to prove themselves as worthy of the Aegis of Champions this August. Thousands of teams have played through their respective regional Open Qualifiers, and few have earned spots in their region’s Main Qualifier. Now, the best that have kept their rosters take on a mix of go-getting hopefuls and regional stars that may have mixed their roster (or are playing for fun).

Europe has sent the best of the best, with TI7 champions Team Liquid having secured their spots. Now, we’ll get to see which other teams will accompany them in defending their home continent. OG Dota, a fan favorite for their former dominance, will be battling through the ranks to try to earn their spot — but they shouldn’t underestimate their rivals, thirsty for success. The Final Tribe and Kinguin have made their mark through the Dota Pro Circuit, and Alliance is putting forth their hand-picked roster of Swedish talent.

What team will earn the privilege to skip the pond to Vancouver? If you want to keep up, we’ve got everything you need right here.


TEAMS

  • Alliance (Open Qualifiers)
  • BlinkPool (Open Qualifiers)
  • Kingdra (Direct Invite)
  • OG Dota (Open Qualifiers)
  • Team Kinguin (Direct Invite)
  • The Final Tribe (Direct Invite)
  • Singularity Esports (Direct Invite)
  • Wind and Rain (Open Qualifiers)

FORMAT

QUALIFYING SPOTS: One

EVENT FORMAT: This event will have one all-team group stage, followed by a double-elimination bracket.

  1. In the group stage, all teams play each other in a best-of-one round-robin.
  2. The top four teams advance; the bottom four are eliminated.
  3. Remaining teams will face off in a double-elimination bracket. All rounds are best-of-three.
  4. The winner will qualify for TI8.

COVERAGE: BeyondTheSummit is providing the most extensive coverage of TI8 Qualifiers. However, there may be other streamers on sites such as Twitch that are casting, due to Valve’s extremely permissive rules on casting official events.


SCHEDULE

Note: Group stages, including updated results, have been moved below Playoffs for ease of access.

Times are approximate and are subject to change as games run longer or shorter. Local time (Central Europe Summer Time) and Eastern Time (NYC) are listed.

Need to convert to your local time? Click here for a handy time zone converter.

GROUP STAGES

Monday, June 18 — Group Stages Day 1

  • 11:00 AM CEST (5:00 AM ET)
    Series 1 — Final Tribe vs OG
  • 11:30 AM CEST (5:30 AM ET)
    Series 1 — Kinguin vs Wind/Rain
  • 12:00 PM CEST (6:00 AM ET)
    Series 2 — Kingdra vs Alliance
  • 12:30 PM CEST (6:30 AM ET)
    Series 2 — Singularity vs Blink
  • 1:00 PM CEST (7:00 AM ET)
    Series 3 — Wind/Rain vs Kingdra
  • 1:30 PM CEST (7:30 AM ET)
    Series 3 — Final Tribe vs Singularity
  • 2:00 PM CEST (8:00 AM ET)
    Series 4 — OG vs Blink
  • 2:30 PM CEST (8:30 AM ET)
    Series 4 — Kinguin vs Alliance
  • 3:00 PM CEST (9:00 AM ET)
    Series 5 — OG vs Singularity
  • 3:30 PM CEST (9:30 AM ET)
    Series 5 — Final Tribe vs Wind/Rain
  • 4:00 PM CEST (10:00 AM ET)
    Series 6 — Blink vs Alliance
  • 4:30 PM CEST (10:30 AM ET)
    Series 6 — OG vs Kinguin
  • 5:00 PM CEST (11:00 AM ET)
    Series 7 — Kingdra vs Singularity
  • 5:30 PM CEST (11:30 AM ET)
    Series 7 — Wind/Rain vs Blink
  • 6:00 PM CEST (12:00 PM ET)
    Series 8 — Final Tribe vs Kinguin
  • 6:30 PM CEST (12:30 PM ET)
    Series 8 — OG vs Kingdra
  • 7:00 PM CEST (1:00 PM ET)
    Series 9 — Wind/Rain vs Alliance
  • 7:30 PM CEST (1:30 PM ET)
    Series 9 — Final Tribe vs Kingdra
  • 8:00 PM CEST (2:00 PM ET)
    Series 10 — Singularity vs Kinguin
  • 8:30 PM CEST (2:30 PM ET)
    Series 10 — OG vs Alliance
  • 9:00 PM CEST (3:00 PM ET)
    Series 11 — Blink vs Kingdra

Tuesday, June 19 — Group Stages Day 2

  • 11:00 AM CEST (5:00 AM ET)
    Series 12 — OG vs Wind/Rain
  • 12:00 PM CEST (6:00 AM ET)
    Series 12 — Final Tribe vs Alliance
  • 1:00 PM CEST (7:00 AM ET)
    Series 13 — Kinguin vs Kindra
  • 2:00 PM CEST (8:00 AM ET)
    Series 13 — Wind/Rain vs Singularity
  • 3:00 PM CEST (9:00 AM ET)
    Series 14 — Kinguin vs Blink
  • 4:00 PM CEST (10:00 AM ET)
    Series 14 — Blink
  • 5:00 PM CEST (11:00 AM ET)
    Series 15 — Final Tribe vs Blink

PLAYOFFS

Wednesday, June 20 — Playoffs Day 1

  • 11:00 PM CEST (5:00 AM ET) — Semi-finals Match 1
    Group Stage Seeds 1 vs 4
  • 2:00 PM CEST (8:00 AM ET) — Semi-finals Match 2
    Group Stage Seeds 2 vs 3
  • 5:00 PM CEST (11:00 AM ET) — Upper Bracket Finals
    Semi-final winners meet here

Thursday, June 21 — Playoffs Day 2

  • 11:00 AM CEST (5:00 AM ET) — Lower Bracket Semis
    Semi-final losers meet here
  • 2:00 PM CEST (8:00 AM ET) — Lower Bracket Finals
    Lower Bracket Semis Winner vs Upper Bracket Finals Loser
  • 5:00 PM CEST (11:00 AM ET) — Upper Bracket Finals
    Upper Bracket vs Lower Bracket Winners
    [Winner qualifies for TI8]