clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The International 8 Southeast Asia Qualifiers: Schedule, teams and format

The massive, powerful region will have two slots to fight for on the road to Dota 2’s biggest event.

Hello to the many Southeast Asian players out there — and their supportive fans! You’ve reached The Flying Courier’s full schedule for the SEA main qualifiers. We’re keeping track of every qualifier’s schedule, so swing by our main hub to see them all, for every region!


The International 8 is upon us, and it’s time for the first step in the road to Vancouver. With eight teams already qualified, ten more need to prove themselves as worthy of the Aegis of Champions this August. Thousands of teams have played through their respective regional Open Qualifiers, and few have earned spots in their region’s Main Qualifier. Now, the best that have kept their rosters take on a mix of go-getting hopefuls and regional stars that may have mixed their roster (or are playing for fun).

Southeast Asia has always been a region of so-called “underdogs” — but fans know better, as SEA is full of veterans and bright-eyed newcomers with impressive strength. Fortunately for many of these players, top squad Mineski Pro Team has already earned their way into TI8 via the Dota Pro Circuit, and now other squads have a chance to shine.

Alpha Red has another chance after their GESC Thailand showing, and the three-fifths expat team under respected brand Fnatic may have something simmering under the surface. Or, perhaps, all-Filipino squad TNC Pro Team, or their sister team Tigers with a mix of SEA veterans, will rise for another TI.

Which team will make the journey to Vancouver? If you want to keep up, we’ve got everything you need right here.


TEAMS

  • Alpha Red (Open Qualifiers)
  • Battle Arena Elites (Open Qualifiers)
  • Boom ID (Direct Invite)
  • Entity Gaming (Open Qualifiers)
  • Fnatic (Direct Invite)
  • TNC Pro Team (Direct Invite)
  • TNC Tigers (Open Qualifiers)
  • Sterling Global Dragons (Open Qualifiers)

FORMAT

QUALIFYING SPOTS: Two

EVENT FORMAT: This event will have one all-team group stage, followed by a double-elimination bracket.

  1. In the group stage, all teams play each other in a best-of-one round-robin.
  2. The top four teams teams advance; the bottom four are eliminated.
  3. Remaining teams will face off in a double-elimination bracket. All rounds are best-of-three.
  4. The Upper and Lower Bracket winners will qualify for TI8.

COVERAGE: BeyondTheSummit is providing the most extensive coverage of TI8 Qualifiers. However, there may be other streamers on sites such as Twitch that are casting, due to Valve’s extremely permissive rules on casting official events.


SCHEDULE

Note: Times are approximate and are subject to change as games run longer or shorter. Local time (Singapore) and Eastern Time (NYC) are listed.

Need to convert to your local time? Click here for a handy time zone converter.

GROUP STAGES

Friday, June 22 — Group Stages Day 1

  • 11:00 AM SGT (11:00 PM ET)
    Series 1 — TNC Pro vs TNC Tigers
  • 11:30 AM SGT (11:30 PM ET)
    Series 1 — Fnatic vs Alpha Red
  • 12:00 PM SGT (12:00 AM ET)
    Series 2 — Boom vs Entity
  • 12:30 PM SGt (12:30 AM ET)
    Series 2 — Battle Arena vs SGD
  • 1:00 PM SGT (1:00 AM ET)
    Series 3 — Alpha Red vs Boom
  • 1:30 PM SGt (1:30 AM ET)
    Series 3 — TNC Pro vs Battle Arena
  • 2:00 PM SGT (2:00 AM ET)
    Series 4 — TNC Tigers vs SGD
  • 2:30 PM SGT (2:30 AM ET)
    Series 4 — Fnatic vs Entity
  • 3:00 PM SGT (3:00 AM ET)
    Series 5 — TNC Tigers vs Battle Arena
  • 3:30 PM SGT (3:30 AM ET)
    Series 5 — TNC Pro vs Alpha Red
  • 4:00 PM SGT (4:00 AM ET)
    Series 6 — SGD vs Entity
  • 4:30 PM SGT (4:30 AM ET)
    Series 6 — TNC Tigers vs Fnatic
  • 5:00 PM SGT (5:00 AM ET)
    Series 7 — Boom vs Battle Arena
  • 5:30 PM SGT (5:30 AM ET)
    Series 7 — Alpha Red vs SGD
  • 6:00 PM SGT (6:00 AM ET)
    Series 8 — TNC Pro vs Fnatic
  • 6:30 PM SGT (6:30 AM ET)
    Series 8 — TNC Tigers vs Boom
  • 7:00 PM SGT (7:30 AM ET)
    Series 9 — Alpha Red vs Entity
  • 7:30 PM SGT (7:30 AM ET)
    Series 9 — TNC Pro vs Boom
  • 8:00 PM SGT (8:00 AM ET)
    Series 10 — Battle Arena vs Fnatic
  • 8:30 PM SGT (8:30 AM ET)
    Series 10 — TNC Tigers vs Entity
  • 9:00 PM SGT (9:00 AM ET)
    Series 11 — SGD vs Boom

Saturday, June 23 — Group Stages Day 2

  • 11:00 AM SGT (11:00 PM ET)
    Series 12 — Battle Arena
  • 12:00 PM SGT (12:00 AM ET)
    Series 12 — TNC Pro vs Entity
  • 1:00 PM SGT (1:00 AM ET)
    Series 13 — Fnatic vs Boom
  • 2:00 PM SGT (2:00 AM ET)
    Series 13 — Alpha Red vs Tigers
  • 3:00 PM SGT (3:00 AM ET)
    Series 14 — Entity vs Battle Arena
  • 4:00 PM SGT (4:00 AM ET)
    Series 14 — Entity vs Battle Arena
  • 5:00 PM SGT (5:00 AM ET)
    Series 15 — TNC Pro vs SGD

PLAYOFFS

Sunday, June 24 — Playoffs Day 1

  • 12:00 PM SGT (12:00 AM ET) — Semi-finals Match 1
    Group Stage Seed 2 vs 5
  • 3:00 PM SGT (3:00 AM ET) — Semi-finals Match 2
    Group Stage Seed 3 vs 4
  • 6:00 PM SGT (6:00 AM ET) — Upper Bracket Finals
    [Winner qualifiers for TI8]

Monday, June 25 — Playoffs Day 2

  • 12:00 PM SGT (12:00 AM ET) — Lower Bracket Semis
    Semi-final losers meet here
  • 3:00 PM SGT (3:00 AM ET) — Lower Bracket Finals
    Lower Bracket Semis Winner vs Upper Bracket Final Loser
    [Winner qualifies for TI8]