clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The International 8 CIS Qualifiers: Schedule, teams and format

The CIS region’s top teams, with their second year of independent Regional Qualifiers, will duke it out for one spot at TI8.

Привет! The Flying Courier is putting together all of the schedules for The International 8’s Regional Main Qualifiers so you can follow along every step of the way. This one is for the Commonwealth of Independent States (including Russia). If you want to see what’s going on around the world, check out our Main Qualifier hub!


NOTE: The CIS Qualifier has ended, and this post has been updated with results.

SPOILERS BELOW.


The International 8 is upon us, and it’s time for the first step in the road to Vancouver. With eight teams already qualified, ten more need to prove themselves as worthy of the Aegis of Champions this August. Thousands of teams have played through their respective regional Open Qualifiers, and few have earned spots in their region’s Main Qualifier. Now, the best that have kept their rosters take on a mix of go-getting hopefuls and regional stars that may have mixed their roster (or are playing for fun).

The Commonwealth of Independent States has proven to be a formidable region not just in its two years as a qualifying region for The International, but also during this year’s Dota Pro circuit. While Vega Squadron and FlyToMoon couldn’t cinch a win, each remained persistent enough to earn their spot at this Main Qualifier. Meanwhile, the threatening Team Spirit and Team Empire have fought their way once more into this event.

Which team will earn this sole spot in Vancouver? If you want to keep up, we’ve got everything you need right here.


RESULTS

QUALIFYING TEAM

FlyToMoon
(now known as “WinStrike” due to ownership deal)

PLAYOFFS

Liquipedia

GROUP STAGES

Liquipedia
Liquipedia

TEAMS

  • 20 min afk les (Open Qualifier)
  • Double Dimension (Open Qualifier)
  • FlyToMoon (Direct Invite)
  • Espada (Open Qualifier)
  • Gambit Esports (Open Qualifier)
  • Team Empire (Open Qualifier)
  • Team Spirit (Open Qualifier)
  • Vega Squadron (Open Qualifier)

FORMAT

QUALIFYING SPOTS: One

EVENT FORMAT: This event will have one all-team group stage, followed by a double-elimination bracket.

  1. In the group stage, all teams play each other in a best-of-one round-robin.
  2. The top four teams advance; the bottom four are eliminated.
  3. Remaining teams will face off in a double-elimination bracket. All rounds are best-of-three.
  4. The winner will qualify for TI8.

COVERAGE: BeyondTheSummit is providing the most extensive coverage of TI8 Qualifiers. However, there may be other streamers on sites such as Twitch that are casting, due to Valve’s extremely permissive rules on casting official events.


SCHEDULE

Note: Times are approximate and are subject to change as games run longer or shorter. Local time (Moscow Standard Time) and Eastern Time (NYC) are listed.

Need to convert to your local time? Click here for a handy time zone converter.

GROUP STAGES

Monday, June 18 — Group Stages Day 1

  • 11:00 AM MSK (4:00 AM ET)
    Series 1 — Espada vs Spirit
  • 11:30 AM MSK (4:30 PM ET)
    Series 1 — FlyToMoon vs DD
  • 12:00 PM MSK (5:00 AM ET)
    Series 2 — Vega vs Empire
  • 12:30 PM MSK (5:30 AM ET)
    Series 2 — Spirit vs Gambit
  • 1:00 PM MSK (6:00 AM ET)
    Series 3 — DD v Espada
  • 1:30 PM MSK (6:30 AM ET)
    Series 3 — Vega vs afk
  • 2:00 PM MSK (7:00 AM ET)
    Series 4 — Empire vs Gambit
  • 2:30 PM MSK (7:30 AM ET)
    Series 4 — FlyToMoon vs Spirit
  • 3:00 PM MSK (8:00 AM ET)
    Series 5 — Empire vs afk
  • 3:30 PM MSK (8:30 AM ET)
    Series 5 — Vega vs DD
  • 4:00 PM MSK (9:00 AM ET)
    Series 6 — Gambit vs afk
  • 4:30 PM MSK (9:30 AM ET)
    Series 6 — Empire vs FlyToMoon
  • 5:00 PM MSK (10:00 AM ET)
    Series 7 — Espada vs afk
  • 5:30 PM MSK (10:30 AM ET)
    Series 7 — DD vs Gambit
  • 6:00 PM MSK (11:00 AM ET)
    Series 8 — Vega vs FlyToMoon
  • 6:30 PM MSK (11:30 AM ET)
    Series 8 — Empire vs Espada
  • 7:30 PM MSK (12:30 PM ET)
    Series 9 — Vega vs Spirit
  • 8:00 PM MSK (1:00 PM ET)
    Series 9 — DD vs Spirit
  • 8:15 PM MSK (1:15 PM ET)
    Series 10 — afk vs FlyToMoon
  • 9:00 PM MSK (2:00 PM ET)
    Series 10 — afk vs Spirit
  • 9:00 PM MSK (2:00 PM ET)
    Series 11 — Espada vs Gambit

Tuesday, June 19 — Group Stages Day 2

  • 11:00 AM MSK (4:00 AM ET)
    Series 12 — Empire vs DD
  • 12:00 PM MSK (5:00 AM ET)
    Series 12 — Vega vs Spirit
  • 1:00 PM MSK (6:00 AM ET)
    Series 13 — FlyToMoon vs Espada
  • 2:00 PM MSK (7:00 AM ET)
    Series 13 — afk vs DD
  • 3:00 PM MSK (8:00 AM ET)
    Series 14 — FlyToMoon vs Gambit
  • 4:00 PM MSK (9:00 AM ET)
    Series 14 — Spirit vs afk
  • 5:00 PM MSK (10:00 AM ET)
    Series 15 — Vega vs Gambit

PLAYOFFS

Wednesday, June 20 — Playoffs Day 1

  • 11:00 PM MSK (4:00 AM ET) — Semi-finals Match 1
    FlyToMoon vs Double Dimension
  • 2:00 PM MSK (7:00 AM ET) — Semi-finals Match 2
    Team Spirit vs Espada
  • 5:00 PM MSK (10:00 AM ET) — Upper Bracket Finals
    Semi-final winners meet here

Thursday, June 21 — Playoffs Day 2

  • 11:00 PM MSK (4:00 AM ET) — Lower Bracket Semis
    Semi-final losers meet here
  • 2:00 PM MSK (7:00 AM ET) — Lower Bracket Finals
    Lower Bracket Semis Winner vs Upper Bracket Finals Loser
  • 5:00 PM MSK (10:00 AM ET) — Upper Bracket Finals
    Upper Bracket vs Lower Bracket Winners
    [Winner qualifies for TI8]

RESULTS:

Liquipedia