clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MDL Changsha Major: schedule, teams and format

The final stretch of the Dota Pro Circuit is here, and this Major kicks off the sprint

Mars Media via Twitter

The final three Majors in the Dota Pro Circuit are about to begin, and the competition is as hot as ever in China. The Mars Dota 2 League is holding its first ever Changsha Major, in which twelve teams will fight it out for big points before the season wraps up. At stake are a nice bundle of 1500 Qualifying Points and a juicy $1 million to keep the teams cool, even if they don’t make it to The International.

If you have a Battle Pass, be sure to pay close attention to the event, as predictions worth precious Battle Points will roll through the event.

While Team Secret has qualified for TI8 already through a steady march, they have plenty to earn with a $1 million prize pool, like any other major. With no Liquid nor Virtus Pro to help round out the top three in the circuit, they’re the top dog — but they have threats looming after them.

PSG.LGD, looking strong amidst their rebrand, is present with SEA threat Mineski, both ready to secure their spot for good in the upcoming Vancouver event. But will another team come in from behind, such as this week’s GESC winners VGJ.Storm, fresh from Thailand, or perhaps there will be a home field advantage with any of the four other Chinese squads?

Who will be crowned victorious, and who will come close? It’s now or never for some of these players. Be sure to stay tuned with the action with our schedule and quick guide below.


[Editor’s Note: We’ll update with the official schedule once it’s released in full. There will be spoilers as the schedule is updated.]


Event Format & Info

Official English Coverage:

Prizes: The prize pool will be $1,000,000 USD with 1,500 Qualifying Points at stake. Point distribution for teams that earn points will be as follows :

  • 1st Place — 750 Qualifying Points/player
  • 2nd Place — 450 QP/Player
  • 3rd Place — 225 QP/Player
  • 4th Place — 75 QP/Player

If you’re still a bit confused about how the Pro Circuit will work, check out our primer about the Valve-sanctioned tournament series.

Competition Format:

Teams begin in a round-robin group stage, in which all teams play each other, followed by a double-elimination playoff bracket.

  • All teams begin in the group stages and play each other in best-of-two matches.
  • At the conclusion of all matches, the bottom team is eliminated.
  • For playoffs, remaining teams are seeded by group stage performance into the double-elimination bracket. Most matches are best-of-three, minus the first lower bracket (best of one) and Grand Finals (best of five).
    — The top team from each group starts automatically in the second round of the upper bracket.
    — The next two teams of each group, second and third, begin in first round of the upper bracket.
    — The following two, fourth and fifth, start in the lower bracket.
  • Losing in the upper bracket sends a team to the lower bracket. All lower bracket games are elimination matches.
  • Bracketed playoffs continue until the best-of-five finals.

Teams/Groups:

Group A:

  • Infamous (SA, Qualifier)
  • Invictus Gaming (China, DPL Circuit)
  • IG.Vitality (China, DPL Circuit)
  • Mineski (SEA, Direct Invite*)
  • OG Dota (EU, Qualifier)
  • Team Secret (EU, Direct Invite)

Group B:

  • Newbee (CN, Direct Invite)
  • PSG.LGD (China, DPL Circuit)
  • TNC Predator (SEA, Qualifier)
  • VGJ.Storm (NA, Qualifier)
  • Vega Squadron (CIS, Qualifier)
  • Vici Gaming (China, Direct Invite)

*Replaced Virtus.Pro after VP withdrew


Schedule:

[Note: Due to time zone differences, dates are listed primarily in the event’s local time. Local ET dates follow. Start time may vary depending on game length and other factors.

Group stage results have been moved below Playoffs information. ]

PLAYOFFS: May 16 — May 20

Liquipedia

Wednesday, May 16th

  • 10:00 AM China Standard Time (Tuesday, May 15th, 10:00 PM ET)
    VGJ.Storm vs OG Dota — Upper Bracket Round 1, Match 1
  • 1:30 PM CST (Wednesday, May 16th, 1:30 AM ET)
    Mineski vs TNC Predator — Upper Bracket Round 1, Match 2
  • 5:00 PM CST (5:00 AM ET)
    Secret vs [UB R1 M1 Winner] — Upper Bracket Round 2, Match 1
  • 8:30 PM CST (8:30 AM ET)
    Vici Gaming vs [UB R1 M2 Winner] — Upper Bracket Round 2, Match 2

Thursday, May 17th

[NO GAMES SCHEDULED]

Friday, May 18th

  • 1:30 PM CST (1:30 AM ET)
    Invictus Gaming vs Newbee — Lower Bracket Round 1, Match 1 [best of one]
  • 2:45 PM CST (2:45 AM ET)
    PSG.LGD vs IG.Vitality — Lower Bracket Round 1, Match 2 [best of one]
  • 4:00 PM CST (4:00 AM ET)
    Lower Bracket Round 2, Match 1
  • 7:30 PM CST (7:30 AM CST)
    Lower Bracket Round 2, Match 2

Saturday, May 19th

  • 10:00 AM China Standard Time (Friday, May 18th, 10:00 PM ET)
    Lower Bracket Round 3, Match 1
  • 1:30 PM CST (Saturday, May 19th, 1:30 AM ET)
    Lower Bracket Round 3, Match 2
  • 5:00 PM CST (5:00 AM ET)
    Lower Bracket Round 4
  • 8:30 PM CST (8:30 AM ET)
    Upper Bracket Finals

Sunday, May 20th

  • 1:00 PM CST (1:00 AM ET)
    Lower Bracket Finals
  • 5:00 PM CST (5:00 AM ET)
    Grand Finals

GROUP STAGE: PLAYOFFS: May 14 — May 15

[All Group Stage matches are best-of-two.]

GROUP A:

Liquipedia

GROUP B:

Liquipedia

[Some matches start simultaneously, and the schedule is listed to reflect such.]

Monday, May 14th

  • 10:00 AM CST (Sunday, May 13th, 10:00 PM ET) — GROUP A
    OG vs Invictus Gaming
    Infamous vs Secret
    IG.Vitality vs Mineski
  • 12:15 PM CST (Monday, May 14th, 12:15 AM ET) — GROUP B
    VGJ.Storm vs Vici
    PSG.LGD vs Vega
    TNC vs Newbee
  • 2:30 PM CST (2:30 AM ET) — GROUP A
    Mineski vs Secret
    IG.Vitality vs OG
    Infamous vs Invictus Gaming
  • 4:45 PM CST (4:45 AM ET) — GROUP B
    PSG.LGD vs Newbee
    Vici vs TNC
    Vega vs VGJ.Storm
  • 7:00 PM CST (7:00 AM ET) — GROUP A
    Invictus Gaming vs IG.Vitality
    OG vs Secret
    Mineski vs Infamous

Tuesday, May 15th

  • 10:00 AM CST (Monday, May 14th, 10:00 PM ET) — GROUP B
    PSG.LGD vs Vici
    VGJ.Storm vs TNC
    Vega vs Newbee
  • 12:15 PM CST (Tuesday, May 15th, 12:15 AM ET) — GROUP A
    Mineski vs OG
    Infamous vs IG.Vitality
    Secret vs Invictus Gaming
  • 2:30 PM CST (2:30 AM ET) — GROUP B
    PSG.LGD vs TNC
    Newbee vs VGJ.Storm
    Vici vs Vega
  • 4:45 PM CST (4:45 AM ET) — GROUP A
    Invictus Gaming vs Mineski
    Secret vs IG.Vitality
    OG vs Infamous
  • 7:00 PM CST (7:00 AM ET) — GROUP B
    Newbee vs Vici
    PSG.LGD vs VGJ.Storm

TNC vs Vega